BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 08: Mitchell Starc of Australia celebrates dismissing Rory Burns of England during day one of the First Test Match in the Ashes series between Australia and England at The Gabba on December 08, 2021 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)

Australia paceman Mitchell Starc has capped a sublime bounceback summer by claiming his first Allan Border Medal by a single vote.

With 43 wickets at a combined average of 24.4 with both the red and white ball, the New South Welshman was at his best during Australia's recent 4-0 Ashes domination by collecting 19 wickets.

Though Starc's deeds within the window of eligibility saw him claim 107 votes, the 31-year-old was pressed wilfully by T20 World Cup hero Mitch Marsh, with the Western Australian finishing the season on 106 votes.

The slim margin separating the two cricketing talls acted as just the second time in which the award had been decided by a single nod, the first being when David Warner edged Steve Smith for the prize in 2020.

Starc's victory also saw him become just the fifth fast bowler to be honoured as Australia's top Male cricketer in the award's 22-year history.

Despite the throws of Covid once again scuppering any chance of a red-carpet awards night, Starc was fittingly bestowed with his medallion during a break in play of the Women's Ashes test in Canberra - a contest in which his wicketkeeping wife Alyssa Healy is currently involved in.

Unfortunately for Healy, only moments before her partner picked up his prize in the stands of Manuka Oval, the wicketkeeper-batter fell for her first pair in Test match cricket.

Healy's fine period within green and gold saw her finish in third place for the Belinda Clark Award handed to the best Australian Women's cricketer.

The Queenslander's 39 votes seeing her sit behind just Beth Mooney (47) and eventual winner, Ashleigh Gardner (54).

Gardner's debut victory was produced after scoring the third-most runs for Australia within the window, as well as the fifth-most wickets.

The Bankstown-born all-rounder's outputs also saw her become the first Indigenous cricketer to claim the country's top prize.

Embed from Getty Images


Allan Border Medal – Mitchell Starc
Belinda Clark Award - Ashleigh Gardner
Male Test Player of the Year – Travis Head
Male ODI Player of the Year – Mitchell Starc
Male T20I Player of the Year – Mitchell Marsh
Women's ODI Player of the Year - Alyssa Healy
Women's T20 Player of the Year - Beth Mooney
Female Domestic Player of the Year – Elyse Villani
Male Domestic Player of the Year – Travis Head
Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year – Darcie Brown
Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year – Tim Ward
Community Champion Award – Zoe Cooke
Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inductees – Raelee Thompson and Justin Langer