ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 26: Steve Smith of Australia walks from the field after being dismissed during game four of the One Day International series between Australia and England at Adelaide Oval on January 26, 2018 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images)

Australia will begin final preparations for the T20 World Cup without Mitchell Marsh, David Warner and Marcus Stoinis, and it has caused a reshuffle to the batting order.

Marsh has been the typical number three in the shortest form of the game in recent times for the T20 World Cup hosts, but his absence means Steve Smith is set to be promoted up the order to first drop for the three-match series against India.

It's tipped that Marsh, Warner and Stoinis, as well as quick Mitchell Starc, will all be able to return for the final five official matches of the preparation, coming in the form of a two-match series against the West Indies, and a three-match series against England during October.

Finch confirmed the switch to the batting order when speaking to the media on Monday in India.

"Most likely he'll bat at three in this series with Mitch Marsh being out," Finch said.

"We know the quality that Steve's got. He's one of the best players that has ever played the game over all formats of the game. So we know the skill that he's got and the game sense and the tactical nous that he's got.

"So we're really confident that regardless of what role he has to play within the structure of the squad, that he can do that very, very well.

"There'll be a little bit of mixing and matching, but still with that one eye towards the World Cup, to make sure that we're still as rounded as we can be as a squad."

It's understood debutant Tim David will come straight into the side for Stoinis for this series, although that will weaken Australia's bowling stocks.

Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Kane Richardson and Daniel Sams will fight for the bowling spot made vacant by Starc, while Josh Inglis is the likely inclusion at the top of the order to replace Warner.

The first T20 starts at 11:30pm (AEST) on Tuesday evening in Mohali, with Games 2 and 3 to be played at the same time in Nagpur and Hyderabad on Friday and Sunday.