The T20 World Cup will be held in Australia for the first time, with six grounds to host matches during the Super 12 stage.

Following the completion of the first round fixtures, which were held in Geelong and Adelaide, matches will spread out around the country during the Super 12 round as the big guns of world cricket join the competition.

The Sydney Cricket Ground will host the opening match between Australia and New Zealand, while the Bellerive Oval will host a handful of games in the first week after playing host to Group B in the first round.

The Sydney and Hobart venues will be joined by the Melbourne Cricket Ground - which will host the final - the Gabba, the Adelaide Oval and Perth Stadium for matches during the Super 12 round.

Canberra didn't bid for matches during the tournament.

Here is the full list of grounds, their key information and the matches you can expect to see played at each venue.

Note: Grounds are listed in alphabetical order as per their ICC recognised name. 

Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Capacity: 53,500

Number of matches to be played: 6

Date Time Match
Wed Nov 2 3pm Zimbabwe vs Netherlands
Wed Nov 2 7pm India vs Bangladesh
Fri Nov 4 3pm New Zealand vs Ireland
Fri Nov 4 7pm Australia vs Afghanistan
Sun Nov 6 11am South Africa vs Netherlands
Sun Nov 6 3pm Pakistan vs Bangladesh


Bellerive Oval, Hobart

Capacity: 20,000

Number of matches to be played: 3

Date Time Match
Sun Oct 23 3pm Sri Lanka vs Ireland
Mon Oct 24 3pm Bangladesh vs Netherlands
Mon Oct 24 7pm South Africa vs Zimbabwe

Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Capacity: 100,024

Number of matches to be played: 6

Date Time Match
Sun Oct 23 7pm India vs Pakistan
Wed Oct 26 3pm England vs Ireland
Wed Oct 26 7pm New Zealand vs Afghanistan
Fri Oct 28 3pm Afghanistan vs Ireland
Fri Oct 28 7pm Australia vs England
Sun Nov 6 7pm Zimbabwe vs India

Perth Stadium, Perth

Capacity: 60,000

Number of matches to be played: 5

Date Time Match
Sat Oct 22 7pm England vs Afghanistan
Tue Oct 25 10pm Australia vs Sri Lanka
Thu Oct 27 10pm Pakistan vs Zimbabwe
Sun Oct 30 6pm Pakistan vs Netherlands
Sun Oct 30 10pm India vs South Africa

Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Capacity: 48,000

Number of matches to be played: 6

Date Time Match
Sat Oct 22 6pm New Zealand vs Australia
Thu Oct 27 2pm South Africa vs Bangladesh
Thu Oct 27 6pm India vs Netherlands
Sat Oct 29 7pm New Zealand vs Sri Lanka
Thu Nov 3 7pm Pakistan vs South Africa
Sat Nov 5 7pm Sri Lanka vs England

The Gabba, Brisbane


Number of matches to be played: 4

Date Time Match
Sun Oct 30 2pm Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe
Mon Oct 31 7pm Australia vs Ireland
Tue Nov 1 3pm Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka
Tue Nov 1 7pm England vs New Zealand