India v Zimbabwe - 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup
AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND - MARCH 14: Regis Chakabva of Zimbabwe bats during the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup match between India and Zimbabwe at Eden Park on March 14, 2015 in Auckland, New Zealand. (Photo by Phil Walter/Getty Images)
India v Zimbabwe - 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup

The United States of America and United Arab Emirates have booked their respective spots at the ICC World Cup qualifying tournament, to be held during June in Zimbabwe.

It comes after the nations managed to get the better of Namibia, Canada, Jersey and Papua New Guinea during the recent qualifier play-off, with teams qualifying for that as either the bottom four teams in League 2, or the top two teams in the Challenge League.

The fortnight-long tournament, held in Nambibia, saw the USA and UAE both win four of their five games, ahead of Namibia and Canada who won three a piece.

The USA were able to beat the hosts, the qualifying partners, Papua New Guinea and Jersey, with their sole loss coming against Canada, while the UAE beat everyone apart from the USA.

The duo will join the top three teams out of League 2 for the tournament in Zimbabwe, with Scotland, Oman and Nepal gaining the three automatic entry spots out of the League 2 campaign, which has run for almost four years and featured 140 matches.

Scotland was the top qualifier, winning 24 of their 36 games played through the period.

At the World Cup qualifier in Zimbabwe, the five teams who have fought their way in will be joined by the bottom five sides out of the World Super League, of which eight teams gain automatic qualification to the World Cup.

Those teams already automatically qualified are hosts India, New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia and Afghanistan, while one of South Africa and Ireland will qualify - Ireland, however, would need to beat Bangladesh 3-0 during their series in May, and have a net run rate reversal, to leapfrog the Proteas on the table.

That leaves likely Ireland to be joined by the West Indies, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and the Netherlands as the teams who will need to pass through the ODI World Cup qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe - and the competition will be fierce with only two spots up for grabs.

The tournament in Zimbabwe kicks off on June 18 and will feature 34 matches, with the World Cup itself to then start in October.

World Cup-qualified teams

India (hosts)
New Zealand
South Africa or Ireland

World Cup qualifier teams

Sri Lanka
United Arab Emirates
United States of America
West Indies
South Africa or Ireland