Australia v South Africa - Third Test: Day 1
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 04: Marnus Labuschagne of Australia looks dejected after being dismissed by Anrich Nortje of South Africa during day one of the Third Test match in the series between Australia and South Africa at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 04, 2023 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)
Australia v South Africa - Third Test: Day 1

Australia's thrilling win in the opening Test of the Ashes will give way to the sport's biggest series returning to Lord's for the second Test as England attempt to get back onto the front foot. This is Zero Wicket's ultimate guide to the second Test.

The match will get underway on Wednesday, June 29, with the first ball set for 8pm (AEST) - 11am (local time) at Lord's in London.

Australia chased down 281 in the first Test at Edgbaston with just a matter of overs remaining on the fifth day and only two wickets in hand.

England have already seemingly rolled out a pitch with more life in it if early pictures of the surface are anything to go by, and will play four quicks, with Moeen Ali dropped.

Australia are yet to confirm their XI but are unlikely to play four quicks with Nathan Lyon a permanent fixture of the team.

How to watch the second Ashes Test in Australia

If you want to watch the second Test of the Ashes in Australia, then the only way to do so will be through Channel 9.

The former broadcaster of the home summer of cricket still retains the rights to the Ashes in England, and their coverage will commence at 7:30pm (AEST) on 9Gem or Channel 9.

Days of the Test and which channel they appear on may vary between markets so we suggest you check your electronic guides.

Channel 9 can be found on Channel 90 in high definition, 91 in standard definition, and 109 through a Foxtel service, while 9Gem is available on Channel 93.

How to live stream the first Ashes Test in Australia

If you're looking to live stream the action in the second Ashes Test from Lord's, you'll need to do so through 9Now.

They have exclusive digital rights and will live stream their TV coverage direct to any device you may own, be it desktop or mobile.

9Now is free to use, however, you'll need to sign up with a valid email address.

Key game information: Second Test, England vs Australia

Dates: Friday, June 16 - Tuesday, June 20
Start time: 8pm (AEST) daily
Venue: Edgbaston, Birmingham


Ben Stokes (c), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Dan Lawrence, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Josh Tongue, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matt Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner

Hours of play

AEST (New South Wales/Victoria/Queensland/Tasmania/Australian Capital Territory)
Toss: 7:30pm
First session: 8pm - 10pm
Lunch: 10pm - 10:40pm
Second session: 10:40pm - 12:40am
Tea: 12:40am - 1am
Third session: 1am - 3am
Latest possible finish time*: 4:30am

ACST (South Australia/Northern Territory)
Toss: 7pm
First session: 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Lunch: 9:30pm - 10:10pm
Second session: 10:10pm - 12:10am
Tea: 12:10am - 12:30am
Third session: 12:30am - 2:30am
Latest possible finish time*: 4am

AWST (Western Australia)
Toss: 5:30pm
First session: 6pm - 8pm
Lunch: 8pm - 8:40pm
Second session: 8:40pm - 10:40pm
Tea: 10:40pm - 11:00pm
Third session: 11:00pm - 1am
Latest possible finish time*: 2:30am

BST (Local time)
Toss: 10:30am
First session: 11am - 1pm
Lunch: 1pm - 1:40pm
Second session: 1:40pm - 3:40pm
Tea: 3:40pm - 4pm
Third session: 4pm - 6pm
Latest possible finish time*: 7:30pm

* - Latest possible finish time refers to an extra 30 minutes for over rates and an extra hour for any delays caused by weather or other unforeseen circumstances. The start time of each day's play may be brought forward by 30 minutes in the event of delays causing a loss of overs.

Note: All times are subject to change.


On-field: Ahsan Raza (Pakistan) and Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand)
Third umpire: Marais Erasmus (South Africa)
Fourth umpire: David Millns (England)
Match referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)