England had the honour of hosting the second T20 World Cup in 2009, although it did little for their on-field performance.

27 matches were once again played in a 12-team competition, although this time it was only nine of the Test playing nations.

Following a famous victory over Australia in the 2007 version, Zimbabwe pulled out of the tournament, allowing for Australia, New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, South Africa, England and the West Indies to be joined by Ireland and the Netherlands, alongside Scotland, who won a third-place playoff at the qualification tournament.

It meant Kenya missed out, with Ireland and the Netherlands both making their first appearance.

Other T20 World Cup match countdowns
» 2007
» 2010

Pakistan were able to avenge their final defeat from the inaugural tournament to hand Sri Lanka a beatdown in the final at Lord’s as two sub-continent nation once again faced off in pinnacle of the shortest format of the game.

Here are the five best matches from the 2009 T20 World Cup.

4. Chris Gayle smokes the Aussies

The Australians had a poor 2007 campaign at the T20 World Cup by their usual lofty standards, and it didn't improve in 2009.

They would be bundled out of the tournament at the first hurdle as Chris Gayle scorched them. Australia might have won the toss and elected to bat at the Oval, with David Warner plundering 63 off 53 balls to lead them to 7 for 169, but it didn't help in the slightest.

A top order collapse left Warner having to anchor the innings, before contributions from Brad Haddin, David Hussey and Michael Hussey got the Australians to a respectable score.

It would be nothing in the face of one of the best batsmen the shortest form of the game has ever seen though as Gayle smoked 88 from 50 balls. He was joined in the middle by Andre Fletcher, who cracked 53 from 32 balls, the West Indies chasing down the total with over four overs to spare at almost 11 runs pr over.

Brett Lee went the journey, conceding 56 runs from his four overs, while the only bowlers under ten runs per over were Mitchell Johnson, James Hopes and Shane Watson.

David Warner during the 2015 Cricket World Cup match between Australia and Scotland at Bellerive Oval on March 14, 2015 in Hobart, Australia.