The powerbrokers of three Indian Premier League franchises have bought ownership of three of the six teams in the newly-formed Major League Cricket (MLC).

The Kolkata Knight Riders were the first IPL powerhouse to buy stakes in an MLC team, the Los Angeles franchise, before owners of the Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, and Delhi Capitals each purchased stakes in the New York, Seattle, and Dallas franchises, respectively.

MLC, scheduled to launch in July, is a brand new T20 competition based in the United States currently comprising six teams in the American metropolises of New York, Seattle, Dallas, San Francisco, Washington D.C., and Los Angeles.

Aligning with international cricketing franchises has been a consistent endeavour of numerous IPL powerbrokers, with Mumbai owning stakes in teams in T20 leagues in South Africa and the United Arab Emirates, in addition to the recently-acquired New York organisation.

The inaugural MLC season will be played in Grand Prairie, Texas, between July 13 and 30, with individual squads to comprise between 15 and 18 players, consisting of both local players from the U.S. as well as international marquee signings.