ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 04: Josh Little of Ireland celebrates with team mates after getting a hat trick with the wicket of Mitchell Santner of New Zealand LBW for a duck during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup match between New Zealand and Ireland at Adelaide Oval on November 04, 2022 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Sarah Reed/Getty Images)

Scotland, Ireland and Papua New Guinea have become the first three qualifiers to book their place alongside the already qualified 12 teams for the 2024 T20 World Cup.

The expanded tournament, which will feature 20 teams and 55 games for the first time, will be held in the West Indies and United States of America, with CricInfo reporting that the dates have been locked in as June 4 to June 30.

Ten venues are expected to be used, with a handful of those in America in Florida, Morrisville, Dallas and New York. Venues are set to be confirmed shortly by the ICC following further inspections.

55 games in 27 days will mean a majority of days have double headers, while some days have triple headers, with the tournament to be played in what is a four-week window.

While the top eight teams from the 2022 World Cup - Australia, England, India, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka - qualified automatically alongside hosts the USA and West Indies, and the top two teams from the T20 rankings not already qualified in Afghanistan and Bangladesh, the other eight spots are fought out in a series of global qualifiers.

The European and East Asia-Pacific qualification tournaments have been held over the last week, with hosts Scotland qualifying out of the European bracket alongside Ireland. The two teams were able to beat out their closest rivals Italy and Jersey in the regional final, with all European teams having previously been involved in other qualification tournaments to book their spot into the regional final.

The story was the same in the East Asia-Pacific block, with Papua New Guinea winning the only spot on offer with thrashing wins over Vanuatu, Japan and the Philippines to win six from six.

The remaining five spots for the tournament will see one awarded to the Americas, two to Asia and two to Africa. Those tournaments will be played between September and December this year.

In the Americas tournament, Bermuda, Canada, the Cayman Islands and Panama will contest with Bermuda to host, although the Canadians will likely go in as favourites.

The Asian regional final will see two out of Bahrain, Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman, Singapore, the United Arab Emirates and two yet-to-be-determined teams go through from a tournament in Nepal, with the hosts, Hong Kong, the UAE and Oman the favourites.

In Africa, the tournament will be held in Namibia, with the hosts favourites alongside Zimbabwe and Kenya, while Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda round out the field.

Teams qualified for 2024 T20 World Cup

New Zealand
Papua New Guinea
South Africa
Sri Lanka
United States of America
West Indies
Americas Qualifier (Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands or Panama)
Asia Qualifier 1 (Bahrain, Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman, Singapore, UAE, TBC or TBC)
Asia Qualifier 2 (Bahrain, Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman, Singapore, UAE, TBC or TBC)
Africa Qualifier 1 (Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda or Zimbabwe)
Africa Qualifier 2 (Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda or Zimbabwe)