SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 05: Jason Sangha of the Thunder poses during the Big Bash Season Launch at The Venue on December 05, 2022 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Brendon Thorne/Getty Images)

The Sydney Thunder have confirmed captain Jason Sangha has broken his collarbone, leaving the all-rounder out of action for the coming days as the club awaits scan results on the injury.

Sangha suffered the ailment in Sunday night's narrow loss to the Melbourne Renegades at Marvel Stadium when he dove to save the ball from reaching the boundary, with the 23-year-old unable to continue in the match.

The promising batsman has since flown home while the Thunder prepare for their next BBL|12 encounter with the Adelaide Strikers, with the Sydney side currently awaiting the results of an X-ray to determine the severity of Sangha's setback.

“Jason will see a specialist in Sydney within the next 24-48 hours to determine the next steps and his recovery timeline,” Thunder physiotherapist Murray Ryan revealed.

The Thunder flew to Adelaide on Monday ahead of their clash with the Strikers, with stand-in skipper Chris Green to lead the Sydney franchise again after taking the reins for the final overs of Sunday's loss.

Embed from Getty Images

Green said the loss of Sangha will be felt among the Thunder squad, who are looking to bounce back against the Strikers on Tuesday night following their record-low runs tally of 15 against the same opponent last week.

“Our thoughts are with Jason,” Green told

“He's a big part of this team as captain, and an even bigger part as a batter - we saw what he did last year in his damaging role in the top order. He's a key to our batting line-up.

“The squad is thinking of him at this time because any injury is tough.”

The Thunder have named their squad for the trip to South Australia, with one of Toby Gray, Baxter Holt or Nathan McAndrew to come into Trevor Bayliss' XI.

The Strikers will host the Thunder at Adelaide Oval on Tuesday, December 20, with the match to commence at 7:15 (AEDT).

THUNDER SQUAD FOR STRIKERS CLASH: Ben Cutting, Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Matthew Gilkes, Toby Gray, Chris Green (c), Alex Hales, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu.