Peter Nevill dismissed Sri Lankan batsman Dimuth Karunaratne on Tuesday afternoon AEST, with this sneaky stumping that may cause some controversy.
Karunaratne missed a turning delivery from spinner Nathan Lyon, which wicket keeper Nevill calmly collected in his gloves.
Nevill then waited, appearing to be aware that Karunaratne would soon rock forward and lift his left foot off the ground, before knocking the bails off and appealing to the umpire.
Impeccable timing from Peter Nevill to nail the stumping of Dimuth Karunaratne #SLvAUS https://t.co/yIklj5N62g
— Oddschecker Au (@OddscheckerAu) August 16, 2016
Hats off to Peter Nevill for one of the sneakiest stumpings I've seen in Test cricket #SLvAUS pic.twitter.com/Dy6vEFMVOZ
— Andrew Wu (@wutube) August 16, 2016
Upon checking with the third umpire, Karunaratne was given out.
However, it sparked debate from commentators as to whether or not Karunaratne believed the ball to be dead, raising questions as to whether or not Nevill was showing good sportsmanship.
Sr Lanka is currently 3-70, 22 overs into their second innings, with a lead of 45 runs.