DARWIN, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 13: Matthew Wade of Australia looks on during an Australia Test cricket squad training session at Marrara Cricket Ground on August 13, 2017 in Darwin, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

Australian wicketkeeper Matthew Wade will join Tasmania after a decade-long stint in Victoria for the upcoming cricket season.

Wade moved to the Bushrangers 10 years ago in a bid to further his playing career and he did just that, dominating the national scene and also making his mark in all three international formats.

The 29-year-old returns home for family reasons this year, and was officially unveiled as a Tiger on Thursday after training with the team over the pre-season.

The move necessarily doesn’t mean Wade will be the first choice ‘keeper, with veteran gloveman Tim Paine also gaining a contract from Tasmania.

Tigers coach Adam Griffith told the media on Thursday he was unsure which player is in front to be the number one ‘keeper.

“We’ll look at that,” Griffith said when asked who he was leaning towards.

“I still think Tim’s one of the best glovemen in the country.”

“He’s [Wade] a Tasmanian boy at heart so I think he’s been looking forward to the opportunity to come home again and set his life up down here,” Griffith added about Wade’s decision.

Wade joins Gabe Bell, Nick Buchanan, Tom Rogers and Charlie Wakim as Tasmania’s five new signings, while Xavier Doherty, Hamish Kingston, Dom Michael and Cameron Wheatley all have not received contracts.

George Bailey will once again captain Tasmania.

Tasmania contracted players for 2017/18 season

CA Contracted Players: Jackson Bird, Matthew Wade

Full Contracts: George Bailey (c), Gabe Bell, Cameron Boyce, Nick Buchanan, Alex Doolan, Jake Doran, Ben Dunk, James Faulkner, Andrew Fekete, Jake Hancock, Ben McDermott, Simon Milenko, Tim Paine, Andrew Perrin, Sam Rainbird, Tom Rogers, Jordan Silk, Cameron Stevenson, Charlie Wakim, Beau Webster.

Rookie Contracts: Caleb Jewel, Riley Meredith, Corey Murfet, Mac Wright, Aaron Summers, Liam Devlin

IN: Gabe Bell (upgraded), Nick Buchanan, Tom Rogers, Matthew Wade, Charlie Wakim

OUT: Xavier Doherty, Hamish Kingston, Dom Michael, Cameron Wheatley