Australian batsman David Warner plays a shot during the 2015 Cricket World Cup final between Australia and New Zealand in Melbourne on March 29, 2015. AFP PHOTO / INDRANIL MUKHERJEE -- IMAGE RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE - STRICTLY NO COMMERCIAL USE-- (Photo credit should read INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP/Getty Images)

Dave Warner has won his first Alan Border Medal, beating Steve Smith by 21 votes.

Mitchell Starc came in third, a further 57 votes behind Warner.

Warner also won the Test player of the year.

Warner averaged 55.09 at Test level during the voting period for the AB Medal, scoring 1,212 runs.

Full list of award winners:

Alan Border Medal: David Warner

Test Player of the Year: David Warner

ODI Player of the Year: Glenn Maxwell

Hall of Fame inductees: Jeff Thomson and Wally Grout

Domestic Player of the Year: Adam Voges

Belinda Clark Award: Ellyse Perry

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year: Alex Ross