David Warner has become the all-time leading run scorer for international players in the Indian Premier League.

His 49-run effort against Mumbai, means he surpasses power hitter Chris Gayle. The West Indian was recently benched by his side Bangalore.

The innings was not enough to grant Warner's Hyderabad the win. Their total of 158 was chased down with more than an over to spare. Apart from Warner and fellow opener Shikhar Dhawan, Australian Ben Cutting was the only player to reach double figures for the Sunrisers.

Warner has now scored 3,512 runs at an average of 39.02 in the IPL. His strike rate comes in at an impressive 142.82.

The Australian vice-captain has now also moved to fifth on the IPL's all-time leading run scorer table. Suresh Raina (4171), Virat Kohli (4110), Rohit Sharma (3883), and Gautam Ghambir (3729) are the players who are in front of him. The Australian has played at least 30 games less than each of those he is behind.

The only other international player inside the top ten, apart from Warner and Gayle, is AB de Villiers. In the South African's last outing he managed an impressive 89 not out off 46 balls.

Warner, the captain of Hyderabad, will be hoping his side can back up their stellar trophy-winning run from last year. They currently sit 2nd on the IPL table, winning two of their first three games.