BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 20: Brisbane player Mitch Swepson celebrates taking a catch during the Big Bash League match between the Brisbane Heat and the Melbourne Stars at The Gabba on December 20, 2017 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Jono Searle/Getty Images)

Australia’s selectors have listed the 17-man test squad for the upcoming summer with a few new faces making the team.

The squad will be lead by Captain Tim Paine and vice-captain Pat Cummins.

As expected, Will Pucovski, Cameron Green, Mitchell Swepson and Sean Abbott are all confirmed in the squad.

Joe Burns also made the 17-man roster despite his struggling form.

A 19-man Australia A squad has been listed to take on India in two tour matches leading into the first Test in Adelaide.

Test players listed in the squad will be expected to play the first tour match as a warm-up to the test series.

Marcus Harris, Moises Henriques, Alex Carey, Nic Maddinson and Will Sutherland have made the Australia A squad, meaning they will be unavailable for the start of the Big Bash League season.

National Selector Trevor Hohns had plenty of praise for South Australian cricket staff who were able to put on four rounds of Sheffield Shield action allowing for emerging stars to flourish.

“What we saw in the opening rounds of the Marsh Sheffield Shield were a number of players performing exceptionally well. It is such a positive sign for Australian cricket to have so many good young players stepping into contention for the Test and Australia A selection,” said Hohns.

“Two of those many standout players were of course Cameron Green and Will Pucovski. Their undeniable form demanded selection and we are very pleased to have these young men in the squad for what will be a tremendous Test Series against an extremely formidable opponent.

“Cameron has already won selection in the white ball squad and continues that in joining the Test squad. He is a wonderful young talent who has great potential to become an all-rounder of substance over time. His batting alone has demanded his place in the squad.

“Will’s record-breaking start to the summer has been exceptional. His ability to show such patience is something which stands him in good stead for Test cricket and he is in rare company with two double centuries to start the summer. We very much look forward to Will developing further on the international stage.”

Hohns also welcomed the arrival of Queensland leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson – who would have debuted in Bangladesh this year if not for COVID.

“Mitch Swepson is another who has excelled and is in fine form for Queensland. He gives the side a strong second spin option to Nathan Lyon and we feel he is ready and deserving of the opportunity,” said Hohns.

“Sean Abbott has also been outstanding at the start of the summer and comes in to his first Test squad as a very strong fast bowling option. Add that to his recent batting form over the last 12 months he presents a very complete package in the squad.”

“As was the case with the white ball side we have reverted to a traditional leadership model of captain and vice-captain now we have a settled and in-form group of experienced players,” Hohns said.

“Travis remains an important member of the senior leadership group and has been integral in the recent success of the side which is now ranked as the best Test team in the world. He has been a great support to Tim and is a very experienced leader.”

TEST SQUAD: David Warner, Will Pucovski, Joe Burns, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (capt), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Michael Neser, Mitchell Swepson, Sean Abbott

AUSTRALIA A: Sean Abbott (NSW), Ashton Agar (WA), Joe Burns (QLD), Jackson Bird (TAS), Alex Carey (SA), Harry Conway (NSW), Cameron Green (WA), Marcus Harris (VIC), Travis Head (SA), Moises Henriques (NSW), Nic Maddinson (VIC), Mitchell Marsh (WA – subject to fitness), Michael Neser (QLD), Tim Paine (TAS), James Pattinson (VIC), Will Pucovski (VIC), Mark Steketee (QLD), Will Sutherland (VIC), Mitchell Swepson (QLD)