SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 07: Josh Hazlewood of Australia celebrates dismissing Babar Azam of Pakistan during day five of the Third Test match between Australia and Pakistan at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 7, 2017 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Australia's triumph last week over India at the Adelaide Oval has seen Josh Hazlewood creeping inside the top five of the ICC test bowling rankings for the first time since 2018.

The two other Aussie fast bowlers, Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc, both profited off the 8-wicket thrashing of India that saw the visitors all out for 36 in their second innings.

Cummins has put more distance between himself and Stuart Broad in the rankings, with the Aussie now 65 points clear of Broad.

Mitchell Starc solidified his seventh spot on the list after innings of 4-53 and 0-7.

Hazlewood's incredible innings of 5-8 in India's now infamous second innings propelled him up the list, coming from ninth on the list to go fifth.

On the batting side of things, Steve Smith retained his no. 1 spot despite having a shocker in Adelaide, whilst Marnus Labuschagne solidified his fourth place with his 47 & 6 in Adelaide.

Outside of Australia, Virat Kohli gained 12 points on Steve Smith in the batting rankings, but cannot close the gap anymore this series following his decision to take paternity leave. The star batsman hit 74 and 4 in his two innings in Adelaide.


Here is the full list of rankings:

Batting rankings

1) Steve Smith (Australia)

2) Virat Kohli (India)

3) Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

4) Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)

5) Babar Azam (Pakistan)

6) David Warner (Australia)

7) Ben Stokes (England)

8) Cheteshwar Pujara (India)

9) Joe Root (England)

10) Tom Latham (New Zealand)


Bowling rankings

1) Pat Cummins (Australia)

2) Stuart Broad (England)

3) Neil Wagner (New Zealand)

4) Tim Southee (New Zealand)

5) Josh Hazlewood (Australia)

6) Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)

7) Mitchell Starc (Australia)

8) James Anderson (England)

9) Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

10) Jason Holder (West Indies)