SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 22: Mitchell Starc of Australia (L) celebrates with Steve Smith (C) and Pat Cummins (R) after taking the wicket of Umar Akmal of Pakistan during game four of the One Day International series between Australia and Pakistan at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 22, 2017 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

The Australian selectors have sprung a big surprise for Australia’s tour of South Africa, naming Victorian spinner Jon Holland in a 15-man squad.

Western Australian quick Jhye Richardson has also been named in the squad with the pair added to the 13 players who took part in the Ashes campaign.

Holland has taken 11 wickets in two Shield contests so far this season following a successful 2015/16 campaign which saw him take 50 scalps at 20.78.

National selector Trevor Hohns said they wanted a specialist spinner should Nathan Lyon be unavailable.

“We envisage the wickets we will see in South Africa will not warrant the need to play two spinners,” said national selector Trevor Hohns.

“Therefore, should Nathan not be able to play at any stage, we wanted to have the best specialist spinner available to us and based on current red ball form Jon warrants that spot.”

Cameron Bancroft retains his place in the squad, as does Peter Handscomb, who failed to appear in any of the five Ashes tests.

Meanwhile D’Arcy Short and Glenn Maxwell have been named in Australia’s T20 squad to face England and New Zealand in February.

Short has been in unstoppable form in the Big Bash while Ben Dawshuis, Billy Stanlake and Alex Carey have also been rewarded for their performances.

David Warner, named as T20 captain, is the only member of both squads, with the majority of the Test squad being rested, travelling to South Africa on February 15.

If Australia make the final of the T20 series on February 21, Warner will likely miss Australia’s three-day tour match beginning on February 22 in Benoni.

TEST SQUAD: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Jackson Bird, Jon Holland, Jhye Richardson.

T20 SQUAD: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Swarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.