Sri Lanka v Australia - 4th ODI
COLOMBO, SRI LANKA - JUNE 21: Mitchell Marsh of Australia bowls during the 4th match in the ODI series between Sri Lanka and Australia at R. Premadasa Stadium on June 21, 2022 in Colombo, Sri Lanka. (Photo by Buddhika Weerasinghe/Getty Images)
Sri Lanka v Australia - 4th ODI

Accomplished West Australian all-rounder Mitchell Marsh will take the reins as Australia's captain for the upcoming T20 international series in South Africa, marking Australia's first T20 appearance without former captain Aaron Finch.

The squad selected for the tour includes a plethora of Big Bash talent, with exciting players like Aaron Hardie, the hard-hitting allrounder and reigning BBL player of the tournament, Matt Short, and the left-arm firebrand, Spencer Johnson.

All are likely to make their international debut during the three-match T20 series.

The squad is also filled with fresh faces, with only five players retained from the last T20 XI played in November. Those five include Marsh himself, along with Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, and Adam Zampa.

The selection chair, George Bailey, expressed confidence in Marsh's leadership skills, citing his seniority within the white-ball setup. Marsh's resurgence in the T20 format, coupled with his experience as captain for Perth Scorchers and Western Australia, has earned him this opportunity at the international level.

"Mitch has long been a senior player within the white-ball structure, with this an opportunity for him to add to his leadership skills at international level," Bailey mentioned in the squad announcement.

"We look forward to him taking that step in South Africa."

While the squad is decided, the lineup within remains up for grabs, with no definitive answers for who will bat where.

Matt Short and Travis Head opened proceedings against Pakistan in Australia's last T20I, the absence of David Warner and Aaron Finch creates a vacancy Australia hasn't been challenged with for some time.

One spot that is decided is the wicket-keeper, with Josh Inglis as the only recognised keeper in the squad and Matthew Wade not featuring.

Sean Abbott and Jason Behrendorff return as the veteran fast bowlers, while young Johnson and Nathan Ellis look to make a name for themselves over the next couple of months.

Adam Zampa will carry the spin-bowling load with help from Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short or Tim David. Ashton Agar will miss out due to a calf injury.

Australia T20 squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

August 30: First T20I, Durban (August 31, 2am AEST)

September 1: Second T20I, Durban (September 2, 2am AEST)

September 3: Third T20I, Durban, September 3, 10pm AEST