Australia's Mitchell Starc bowls during play on the fifth day of the fourth Ashes cricket Test match between England and Australia at Old Trafford in Manchester, north-west England on September 8, 2019. (Photo by Oli SCARFF / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE. NO ASSOCIATION WITH DIRECT COMPETITOR OF SPONSOR, PARTNER, OR SUPPLIER OF THE ECB (Photo credit should read OLI SCARFF/AFP/Getty Images)

The England Cricket Board have confirmed both Old Trafford and Headingley will not feature in the 2027 Ashes series.

Instead, the Ageas Bowl (also known as the Rose Bowl) in Southampton, and Trent Bridge in Nottinghamshire will be used in 2027.

Southampton will then drop out for the 2031 series along with Edgbaston to accomodate the return of Old Trafford and Headingley, with Lords and The Oval to both be used in 2027 and 2031.

The 2023 series will be played at Edgbaston, Lord's, Headingley, Old Trafford and The Oval, which is the exact same grounds and order as was used during the 2019 series.

2023 series: Edgbaston, Lord's, Headingley, Old Trafford, The Oval
2027 series: Lord's, The Oval, Edgbaston, Trent Bridge, The Ageas Bowl
2031 series: Lord's, The Oval, Old Trafford, Headingley, Trent Bridge

The inclusion of Southampton's Rose Bowl is potentially the biggest surprise, with the ground hosting three Tests during the COVID-era as well as the World Test Championship final between India and New Zealand. It has not hosted a Test since though, and the last time it hosted an England home Test was in 2018.

It was never hosted an Ashes Test.

The men's side also have two five-Test series against India over the ground announcement period, in 2025 and 2029.

2025 series vs India: Lord's, The Oval, Edgbaston, Headingley, Old Trafford
2029 series vs India: Lord's, The Oval, Edgbaston, Old Trafford, Ageas Bowl

The ECB have also confirmed that Headingley will host the women's Test in the 2027 Ashes, and the Ageas Bowl will host the red ball match in 2031. The Test this year, which is to commence on June 22, will be played at Trent Bridge.

England have also confirmed that the England women's team will play at least one match per year at Lord's for the next seven years, while all of Edgbaston, The Oval, Old Trafford, Headingley, Trent Bridge and The Ageas Bowl will host at least four women's team matches over this period.