MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 29: Jasprit Bumrah of India bowls during day four of the Second Test match between Australia and India at Melbourne Cricket Ground on December 29, 2020 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Indian fast bowler Mohammed Shami has replaced injured paceman Jasprit Bumrah for this month's T20 World Cup in Australia.

Bumrah has battled a back injury that was sustained against South Africa in their three-game series and was removed from India's squad for the tournament down under.

Shami, Shardul Thakur and Mohammed Siraj were all in the mix to replace Bumrah, however the former has won a spot in the squad despite Siraj being named Player of the Series against South Africa.

Both Thakur and Siraj will remain on standby for India as they now set their sights on the T20 title, with coach Rahul Dravid relying on the experience of Shami to aid India's prospects.

Bowler Deepak Chahar was also replaced as a standby option for India after suffering a setback against South Africa, with Siraj and Thakur joining Shreyas Iyer and Ravi Bishnoi as reserve players.

Shami will add support to attacking quartet Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel and Hardik Pandya for their World Cup push.

India will begin their T20 World Cup campaign against rivals Pakistan at the MCG before matches with South Africa, Bangladesh and two group winners from the Super 12.

INDIA SQUAD: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Shami.