India v Australia - 4th Test: Day 3
AHMEDABAD, INDIA - MARCH 11: Steve Smith of Australia speaks with Mitchell Starc during day three of the Fourth Test match in the series between India and Australia at Narendra Modi Stadium on March 11, 2023 in Ahmedabad, India. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)
India v Australia - 4th Test: Day 3

The Ashes will get underway on Friday, June 16 at Edgbaston, with the first ball to be bowled at 8pm (AEST). This is Zero Wicket's complete guide to the first Test, including how to watch the Test on TV or stream the match online in Australia.

The Ashes is cricket's oldest rivalry, and the tour of England is often seen as not only one of the toughest, but the most important on Australia's cricketing calendar.

The series, which also kicks off the next instalment of the World Test Championship, will feature five Tests between the old enemies, with Australia looking to retain the urn that they last held down under during the 2021-22 summer.

How to watch the first Ashes Test in Australia

If you want to watch the first Test of the Ashes in Australia, then the only way to do so will be through Channel 9.

The former broadcaster of the home summer of cricket still retains the rights to the Ashes in England, and their coverage will commence at 7:30pm (AEST) on 9Gem in most markets, pending NRL coverage.

Some days of the Test will be played on Channel 9's main channel in some markets, so we suggest checking your local guides.

Channel 9 can be found on Channel 90 in high definition, 91 in standard definition, and 109 through a Foxtel service, while 9Gem is available on Channel 93.

How to live stream the first Ashes Test in Australia

If you're looking to live stream the action in the first Ashes Test from Edgbaston, you'll need to do so through 9Now.

They have exclusive digital rights and will live stream their TV coverage direct to any device you may own, be it desktop or mobile.

9Now is free to use, however, you'll need to sign up with a valid email address.

Key game information: First Test, England vs Australia

Dates: Friday, June 16 - Tuesday, June 20
Start time: 8pm (AEST) daily
Venue: Edgbaston, Birmingham


Ben Stokes (c), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Dan Lawrence, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Josh Tongue, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matt Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner

Hours of play

AEST (New South Wales/Victoria/Queensland/Tasmania/Australian Capital Territory
Toss: 7:30pm
First session: 8pm - 10pm
Lunch: 10pm - 10:40pm
Second session: 10:40pm - 12:40am
Tea: 12:40am - 1am
Third session: 1am - 3am
Latest possible finish time*: 4:30am

ACST (South Australia/Northern Territory)
Toss: 7pm
First session: 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Lunch: 9:30pm - 10:10pm
Second session: 10:10pm - 12:10am
Tea: 12:10am - 12:30am
Third session: 12:30am - 2:30am
Latest possible finish time*: 4am

AWST (Western Australia
Toss: 5:30pm
First session: 6pm - 8pm
Lunch: 8pm - 8:40pm
Second session: 8:40pm - 10:40pm
Tea: 10:40pm - 11:00pm
Third session: 11:00pm - 1am
Latest possible finish time*: 2:30am

BST (Local time)
Toss: 10:30am
First session: 11am - 1pm
Lunch: 1pm - 1:40pm
Second session: 1:40pm - 3:40pm
Tea: 3:40pm - 4pm
Third session: 4pm - 6pm
Latest possible finish time*: 7:30pm

* - Latest possible finish time refers to an extra 30 minutes for over rates and an extra hour for any delays caused by weather or other unforeseen circumstances. The start time of each day's play may be brought forward by 30 minutes in the event of delays causing a loss of overs.

Note: All times are subject to change.


On-field: Ahsan Raza (Pakistan) and Marais Erasmus (South Africa)
Third umpire: Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand)
Fourth umpire: Mike Burns (England)
Match referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)