England had the honour of hosting the second T20 World Cup in 2009, although it did little for their on-field performance.

27 matches were once again played in a 12-team competition, although this time it was only nine of the Test playing nations.

Following a famous victory over Australia in the 2007 version, Zimbabwe pulled out of the tournament, allowing for Australia, New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, South Africa, England and the West Indies to be joined by Ireland and the Netherlands, alongside Scotland, who won a third-place playoff at the qualification tournament.

It meant Kenya missed out, with Ireland and the Netherlands both making their first appearance.

Other T20 World Cup match countdowns
» 2007
» 2010

Pakistan were able to avenge their final defeat from the inaugural tournament to hand Sri Lanka a beatdown in the final at Lord’s as two sub-continent nation once again faced off in pinnacle of the shortest format of the game.

Here are the five best matches from the 2009 T20 World Cup.

3. Defending champions have charge ended by hosts

One of the more important matches at the tournament, the loser of this one was set to be eliminated from the Super 8 stage.

Lord's hosted two of cricket's longest-standing rivals in a critical crunch match, with England being sent into bat. They struggled to get ahead of the eight ball with the exception of Kevin Pietersen, who blasted 46 off just 27 balls. With Ravi Bopara, Dimitri Mascarenhas and Owais Shah playing anchor roles, it allowed the hosts to reach 7 for 153.

That was despite an excellent spell of bowling from RP Singh, who took 1 for 13 from his four overs, and Ravindra Jadeja, who has 2 for 26 from his four.

India would have been confident of chasing down the total, however, a disastrous start left them at 2 for 24 off just four overs with both Rohit Sharma and Suresh Raina back in the pavilion.

Gautam Gambhir and Ravindra Jadeja anchored the innings, but struggled to push the pace. When the big-hitting Yuvraj Singh was dismissed for 17 off just nine balls, leaving India needing 66 from six overs, it looked all but over.

It was anything but though as inspirational captain MS Dhoni and Yusuf Pathan put the rockets on. They scored 30 off 20 and 33 off 17 respectively, however, India would fall just three runs short of the target, being knocked out of the tournament.

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni leads his team after victory during the third and final T20 cricket match in a serie of three games between India and Zimbabwe in the Prayag Cup at Harare Sports Club, on June 22, 2016.
Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bowl in Wednesdays third and decisive Twenty20 international at Harare Sports Club, giving India their first opportunity to post a total on their short tour. JEKESAI NJIKIZANA/AFP/Getty Images