The sun sets over the North Sydney Oval during the first day of the women's Ashes cricket Test between Australia and England in Sydney on November 9, 2017. The test is also their first ever day-night game. / AFP PHOTO / Peter PARKS / -- IMAGE RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE - STRICTLY NO COMMERCIAL USE -- (Photo credit should read PETER PARKS/AFP/Getty Images)

The ICC has announced that the upcoming women's T20 World Cup in South Africa will feature an all-woman line-up of match officials, a historical first for the game.

The 13-member group will consist of three match referees and ten umpires. The three match referees have been revealed as GS Lakshmi (India), Shandre Fritz (South Africa) and Michell Pereira (Sri Lanka), while Sue Redfern (England), Eloise Sheridan (Australia), Claire Polosak (Australia), Jacqueline Williams (West Indies), Kim Cotton (new Zealand), Lauren Agenbag (South Africa), Anna Harris (England), Vrinda Rathi (India), N Janani (India) and Nimali Perera (Sri Lanka) have been selected as on-field and tv umpires.

In addition to the all-female selection, the decision also makes history as the most female match officials and referees in a global ICC tournament.

The ICC's general manager of cricket, Wasim Khan, said that the decision was a reflection on the growth of, and commitment to women's cricket.

"Women's cricket has been growing rapidly in recent years and as part of that, we have been building the pathways to ensure more women have the opportunity to officiate at the highest level," Khan said.
"This announcement is a reflection of our intent in this space and just the start of our journey where men and women enjoy the same opportunities across our sport.
"We are committed to continuing to support our female match officials and provide opportunities to showcase their talents on the global stage. I wish them all the best for the tournament."
The tournament, which will be held in South Africa, will commence on February 10 with the hosts taking on Sri Lanka.