SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 27: Virat Kohli of India talks to Rohit Sharma of India during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup match between India and Netherlands at Sydney Cricket Ground on October 27, 2022 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

After a disappointing finish to the 2022 T20 World Cup, things are going from bad to worse for India.

Not only did they lose their ODI series against Bangladesh but they are now missing one of their superstars, Rohit Sharma, ahead of their Test series with the Tigers.

After missing India's final ODI against Bangladesh, the opener is also set to miss his side's first two Test matches after sustaining an injury to his thumb in the second ODI.

With the opener's spot up for grabs, 27-year-old Abhimanyu Easwaran will debut and replace him in the team for the first Test.

With fast bowler Mohammad Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja already ruled out of the series, Sharma is just another key player that Rahul Dravid has to replace.

Sharma's partner in crime at the top of the batting, KL Rahul, will take the reigns as captain.

With bad luck and busy schedules all potential causes for India's injury woes, Dravid will be hoping his side can turn it around with a big win against Bangladesh.

Here is India's current squad for their first two Tests:

KL Rahul (C), Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat.