HOBART, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 16: Pat Cummins of Australia celebrates the wicket of Mark Wood of England during day three of the Fifth Test in the Ashes series between Australia and England at Blundstone Arena on January 16, 2022 in Hobart, Australia. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Australia and England have locked in their playing XIs for the first Test of the Ashes at Edgbaston, with England winning the toss and electing to bat first.

Australia refused to name a team in the lead-up to the game, and had the media scrambling on match day morning with Mitchell Marsh marking out his run up.

He ultimately rejoined the reserves group, but in something of a surprise, Mitchell Starc has been dropped, with captain Pat Cummins to be joined by World Test Championship final hero Scott Boland, and the returning Josh Hazlewood.

Nathan Lyon is the spinner, while the top seven remains unchanged from last week's final against India at The Oval.


England, on the other hand, confirmed their playing XI yesterday, with things more or less as expected.

Moeen Ali's return to Test cricket has been completed after he came out of retirement and into the squad late as an injury replacement.

Otherwise, the all guns blazing batting order led off by Zak Crawley and Ben Duckett, with Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Harry Brook and Ben Stokes are all playing.

Jonny Bairstow will wear the gloves, while aging warriors Stuart Broad and James Anderson lead an attack that also features Ollie Robinson.

Play commences at 8pm (AEST).


1. Zak Crawley
2. Ben Duckett
3. Ollie Pope
4. Joe Root
5. Harry Brook
6. Ben Stokes (capt)
7. Jonny Bairstow (wk)
8. Moeen Ali
9. Stuart Broad
10. Ollie Robinson
11. James Anderson


1. David Warner
2. Usman Khawaja
3. Marnus Labuschagne
4. Steve Smith
5. Travis Head
6. Cameron Green
7. Alex Carey (wk)
8. Pat Cummins (c)
9. Nathan Lyon
10. Scott Boland
11. Josh Hazlewood